maintain your roof

Why Should You Inspect and Maintain Your Flat Roof in Montreal?

It's easy to forget about your flat roof, because you never see it! Unfortunately, when a flat roof is relegated to oblivion, it wears out, becomes less waterproof and it ends up having to be replaced prematurely – which can be very expensive! At Couvreurs-DM, flat roof specialists (replacement, repair and renovation of commercial and residential roofs) in Montreal, Laval and the surrounding areas, we invite you to read this blog article which shows you the importance of regularly ensuring that your flat roof is in good condition.

Inspection: The First Thing to do for Preventive Maintenance of Your Flat Roof
Whether your roof is covered in asphalt and gravel or elastomeric membrane, preventive maintenance must begin with a rigorous inspection by a professional roofer. Do you want to do a pre-inspection yourself? Here's what you need to pay attention to:

  • Puddles of water
  • Cracks and warping
  • Irregularities in the covering
  • Burst asphalt bubbles
  • Parts that are curling up or flaking off
  • The presence of plant moss, insects or animals;
  • Cracked caulking
  • Broken or worn out seals

If you notice any of these problems, it is imperative to remedy them as soon as possible to avoid further wear and tear on your roof. You should pay special attention to water infiltration problems, which can affect the structure of your building.


The Advantage of Doing Business with Roofing Experts for Your Flat Roof Maintenance
Of course, you can do the inspection and maintenance of your flat roof yourself if you do not get vertigo and if you follow the CNESST safety rules applicable to portable ladders and stepladders.However, when you're dealing with a professional roofer, you get a major advantage: you're benefiting from the kind of expertise that can save you a lot of money! In fact, an experienced roofer can recognize the subtle signs that indicate problems before they take hold. And remember that maintenance work (adding gravel, repairing the membrane, etc.) will cost you significantly less than replacement!


Are you the owner of a flat-roof residence or building? At Couvreurs-DM, we suggest preventive maintenance twice a year: in the fall after the leaves come down, and in the spring when the snow has melted.

Call us to learn more about our services!

0 0
Feed

entretenir son toit

Pourquoi faut-il inspecter et entretenir son toit plat à Montréal?

Il est facile d’oublier son toit plat… tout simplement parce qu’on ne le voit pas! Malheureusement, lorsqu’un toit plat est relégué aux oubliettes, il se dégrade, il devient moins étanche et il finit par devoir être remplacé prématurément — ce qui peut coûter très cher! Chez Couvreurs-DM, spécialistes des toits plats (réfection, réparation et rénovation de toitures commerciales et résidentielles) à Montréal, à Laval et dans les environs, nous vous invitons à lire cet article de blogue qui vous montre l’importance de vous assurer régulièrement que votre toit plat est en bon état.

L’inspection : la première chose à faire pour l’entretien préventif de votre toit plat 

Peu importe le recouvrement de votre toit plat (asphalte et gravier, membrane élastomère…), l’entretien préventif de ce dernier doit débuter par une inspection rigoureuse effectuée par un couvreur professionnel. Vous souhaitez faire vous-même une pré-inspection? Voici ce qui doit attirer votre attention :


  • Des accumulations d’eau;
  • Des craquelures et des bosses;
  • Un recouvrement irrégulier;
  • Des bulles d’asphalte éclatées;
  • Des morceaux qui décollent ou qui gondolent;
  • La présence de mousse végétale, d’insectes ou d’animaux;
  • Un calfeutrage fissuré;
  • Des joints d’étanchéité effrités.

Si vous remarquez l’une ou l’autre de ces anomalies, sachez qu’il est impératif d’y remédier sans délai pour éviter la dégradation de votre toiture, notamment les problèmes d’infiltrations d’eau, qui peuvent affecter la structure de votre bâtiment.


L’avantage de faire affaire avec un expert couvreur pour l’entretien de votre toit plat
Certes, vous pouvez effectuer l’inspection et l’entretien de votre toit plat si vous n’avez pas le vertige et si vous connaissez bien les règles de sécurité de la CNESST applicables aux échelles portatives et aux escabeaux.Toutefois, en faisant affaire avec un couvreur professionnel, vous obtenez un avantage important : vous profitez d’une expertise qui peut vous faire économiser beaucoup d’argent! En effet, un couvreur sait reconnaître les signes parfois subtils qui indiquent le début d’une altération du toit. Et rappelez-vous que des travaux d’entretien (ajout de gravier, réparation de la membrane, etc.) vous coûteront significativement moins cher qu’une réfection!


Vous êtes le propriétaire d’une résidence ou d’un immeuble à toit plat? Chez Couvreurs-DM, nous vous suggérons un entretien préventif 2 fois par année, soit à l’automne après la chute des feuilles et au printemps, lorsque la neige a fondu. Appelez-nous pour en savoir plus sur nos services!

0 0
Feed